PDA

View Full Version : K.WILL's Sack

TMAC604
09-13-2006, 11:38 AM
Doesn't K.Will deserve a sack when he caused that fumble during the handoff on that run play.
The ball was never handed off and who's to say it might have been a play action pass.
He should get credit for a sack and FF.

Del Rio
09-13-2006, 11:42 AM
No it doesn't count as a sack.

TMAC604
09-13-2006, 11:48 AM
It should count.
Any reason why it shouldn't?

Del Rio
09-13-2006, 12:11 PM
Sure, because he didn't sack the QB he caused a fumble.

Phlegm
09-13-2006, 12:19 PM
I always thought that forcing the QB to fumble was also registered as a sack too.

Json
09-13-2006, 12:20 PM
I was under the impression that if you cause the QB to fumble it IS regirstered as a sack on the stat sheet.

Semperfi Vike
09-13-2006, 12:21 PM
Hello all, I have been a football coach for 6 yrs now and yes when a QB is hit and fumbles the ball it is a sack and FF. Maybe the NFL is looking at it as the RB was charged with the fumble

Del Rio
09-13-2006, 12:23 PM
If he is in the motion of passing it is. If he is handing the ball off to a RB it is charged to the RB. That's the way it has always been.

If it is the RB who fumbles how can it be a sack?

jargomcfargo
09-13-2006, 12:25 PM
"TMAC604" wrote:

Doesn't K.Will deserve a sack when he caused that fumble during the handoff on that run play.
The ball was never handed off and who's to say it might have been a play action pass.
He should get credit for a sack and FF.

It was a touchdown saving play as they had us completely blocked around their left end.
That preserved the only stat I care about. 1 win!

Prophet
09-13-2006, 12:26 PM
I thought Brunell fumbled (http://www.nfl.com/gamecenter/playbyplay/NFL_20060911_MIN@WAS).
Can't remember exactly when that play was in the game.

jargomcfargo
09-13-2006, 12:39 PM
"Prophet" wrote:

I thought Brunell fumbled (http://www.nfl.com/gamecenter/playbyplay/NFL_20060911_MIN@WAS).
Can't remember exactly when that play was in the game.