PDA

View Full Version : Vikings may lose CB Brian Williams

singersp
02-15-2006, 01:10 PM
Posted on Wed, Feb. 15, 2006

Vikings may lose CB Brian Williams

From news services

Next to wide receiver Koren Robinson, cornerback Brian Williams might be the most valuable of the Vikings' 16 pending unrestricted free agents, but odds are he will be playing with another team next season.

With free agency beginning March 3, Williams' agent said Tuesday that he has had no contract talks with the Vikings. Agent Jordan Feagan wouldn't rule out a return by the four-year veteran, but he indicated it's not likely.

"Of course, there's no animosity," Feagan said. "It's not like we wouldn't consider coming back. Looking at it as an agent, I just don't see it."

Williams replaced Fred Smoot as the Vikings' starting right cornerback during the middle of the 2005 season after Smoot suffered a shoulder injury. Williams held the job for the final eight games.

With the Vikings switching to a Cover 2 defense, there has been talk of moving Williams to strong safety, but Feagan said his client has proved he's a starting cornerback.

"Not only during the second half of last season; he's proved it through his career," Feagan said. "Some said he slipped two years ago, but he was playing hurt with a knee injury. As I look at the cornerback free-agent list, I think he's in the top three."

Don Seeholzer
Pioneer Press

Brian Williams (http://www.twincities.com/mld/twincities/13873854.htm)

Prophet
02-15-2006, 01:44 PM
The press has finally caught up with the obvious. I sure hope we can keep him somehow.

sleepagent
02-15-2006, 02:39 PM
Interesting that the Vikes haven't offered a contract. I wonder what's up the sleeve?

Del Rio
02-15-2006, 02:40 PM
Can they franchise him?

If they do..........he will definately hold out lol.

V4L
02-15-2006, 03:14 PM
Not a big surprise... I really wish we would atleast send in an offer and hope he takes it because he wants to be a Vike..