PDA

View Full Version : Illegle forward motion on last second field goal



marv
09-03-2005, 10:18 AM
:shock:

Why didn't we get called on an illegal forward motion in the backfield when the kicker, Edinger, moved forward and to the right to touch Brad Johnson to reset himself?!?!?!? Don't get me wrong, I'm happy :grin: but I sure would like to understand. It is true that on a kick off the rules for offensive formations don't apply (so for example a kicker could move forward to put the ball back on the tee without getting a penalty) but a field goal is just like any other offensive play.

Let me support my words:

"All players of offensive team must be stationary at snap, except one back who may be in motion parallel to scrimmage line or backward (not forward)."
- NFL Digest of Rules
(see http://www.nfl.com/news/rulesdigest.html)

and

“On field goal attempts, the rules pertaining to formations are the same as in any scrimmage down.�
- Mike Pereira the NFL's senior director of officiating (Oct. 18, 2001)
(see http://www.nfl.com/fans/rulesschool101801.html)

Somebody who knows the rules better please help me!!!!

PurplePackerEater
09-03-2005, 11:22 AM
Ah, why don't we(you) get called for "illegal" mispelling?? :grin:

Just messin' wit ya panties.

For real though, did we?? That suks, we actually lost. :cry:

akvikefan89
09-03-2005, 11:37 AM
sssshhh... it never happened... :lol:

Truth is, Refs are there to make a game official. There are always calls that were made "wrong" or not made at all when they "should have been" If they don't call the penalty, then it never happened.

WE WON!!!! 3-1 in pre-season!!! (as if pre-season record means a whole lot :lol: ) Can't wait to see the boys play their first real game together :grin:
It will give the team a whole new look...

jdvike
09-03-2005, 04:51 PM
If we're going to nitpick here.....Nate was interfered with, on a drive deep in seahags territory that resulted in peps only int,which we most certainly would have scored at least 3 points.....so we're even :lol: